top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiia Backstrom

College Applications: Here’s What You Need to Know

Updated: Apr 16


Source: Phonruewiangphing, P., Jacoblund, Monde Istock. iStock. https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/college 



Opening my laptop, I log onto CommonApp with the login info I made yesterday. I can feel a slight tension headache brewing as I scroll through the endless information I’ll have to type up, having no idea where to begin. What even is a supplemental essay? And how do I get recommendations from teachers? After a few minutes, I decide to shut my laptop. It’s still summer–I have months to get these done! I’ll just spend a few days researching where to start before I begin my applications. I mean– it can’t take that long…right?


After going through the arduous process of applying to college without any previous knowledge of how to do so, I’ve learned a few things that I wish I had known before my senior year. 


Are you also feeling stuck, anxious, and not sure where to start? Don’t worry, I’ve interviewed a few seniors with different experiences who will let you know exactly how to get through this process while still staying (semi) sane. Here’s what they have to say:


  1. Start early

When asked about her biggest piece of advice, Kylie Sasser, who will be attending UNC-Chapel Hill in the fall, said, “Start earlier than you think you need to. Brainstorm your essay topics, look into the universities you are interested in, [and] list out your extracurriculars. You won’t regret putting a little extra time into these applications.” 


It is extremely easy to put off things that seem overwhelming and confusing, but the earlier you start college applications (think summer), the less stressed you will be when deadlines come a little closer. That way, if you need a break from time to time, you can take it!

  1. Use your resources and be organized

“[One] of the most helpful things was creating a student resume with all of my extracurriculars, accolades, awards, volunteering, and anything I felt was important enough to add to my application.” - Kylie Sasser


One of the most time-consuming parts of applying to college is typing up information that you feel like you’ve already submitted way too many times. Don’t make it harder than it has to be, have all of your information ready and organized in a place that is easy to access.


  1. Have support throughout the process

“I wrote my college applications with my friends, and I got them to peer edit and review it. I went to coffee shops and libraries and went outside to [write], and I think that saved me. I wasn't doing it alone and I had other people that were going through the same thing [who] I could talk to about it.” - Miles Pollock


Say it with me: You. Are. Not. Alone. Most of your friends are struggling with the same issues when it comes to applications. Make it fun! Work with your friends, ask for help, and talk to anyone you can.


  1. Don’t be afraid to brag a little

“Don’t be afraid to sound conceited(...) be confident in who you are and what you have done!” - Kylie Sasser.


Applying to college is all about selling yourself. As Miles Pollock said, “Be cocky, don’t be humble. Be as egotistical as you want to be.” Colleges want to know why you are good enough to go to their school, so convince them.


  1. Consider other options - don’t be afraid to do something different!

You might be reading this article and thinking, “Do I really have to go through all this? I don’t even know what I want to major in! How am I supposed to apply to college if I have no idea what I want to do?”


Maddie Mohlenhoff has decided to attend Cape Fear Community College to earn her associate's degree before transferring to a University. She struggled with these same questions, but eventually made her decision, stating, “Financially it makes so much sense for me to do this, especially if I have no idea what I want to do; it costs a lot of money to change your major.” 


Going to community college can be a great option for many people. Don’t feel the need to do what everyone else is doing. Although going to a four-year university can be a great choice, definitely consider going to community college, as it is a much cheaper option, and especially great for those who don’t know what they want to do yet. Maddie explained, “I've had more time to focus on writing scholarship essays and looking into what I want to major in. I've spent more time looking into the classes that I want to take whereas these people are still just trying to get into college.” She explained that she could still get the college experience by taking part in activities at UNCW, and will save money while deciding what she wants to major in once she goes to a University to get her Bachelor’s degree.


No matter what path you decide to take, remember that you will be okay! Be prepared for rejections that may hurt, but just know that it is an incredible achievement to get into any college. You will end up where you need to be, even if it wasn’t necessarily your first choice. And remember– have fun during your senior year, and don’t let college applications ruin such an exciting time!




Source: Phonruewiangphing, P., Jacoblund, Monde Istock. iStock. https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/college 

 








14 views0 comments
bottom of page