top of page
Kylie Sasser

The Final Stretch: Tips on Studying Effectively for Exams



Studying for exams is often pushed aside until the end of the year, however, retaining knowledge on a deeper level requires more than one week of cram studying. According to the University of the People, studying is most effective when it is consistent and dedicated. Studying consistently doesn’t have to look like spending hours in a book every night, it can be simply looking over what you did in class, spending a little extra time on homework, or doing research and practice outside of class. Another thing that has been shown to maximize studying is a clean and organized environment. Having a neat desk with everything in line can help you begin studying with a clear and calm mindset. I find it easiest to study on my floor where I can lay all of my materials out and see everything I have to look over, and to start by studying the concepts that feel the most familiar. When I start with what I already know well, I can build up my confidence and work my way towards the less familiar information. Take your time with each section–don’t rush over things. Make sure you thoroughly understand the concepts and information before you move on to the next thing!


Study Strategies

With AP exam season coming up, here are some of the best strategies to help you study:

  • Take practice tests

  • Find extra materials such as AP Topic videos or online reviews

  • Make flashcards 

  • Create study guides

  • Try to review topics by teaching others 


My Tips for You

One of the most important studying tips is to take breaks! Your brain can only take in and retain so much information at a time, so take time away from your textbooks. I also suggest creating goals for yourself and your exams. By setting goals, you can make a schedule to meet them which will keep your studying consistent and help you visualize how much studying needs to be done. Creating goals can increase motivation because you have something you are striving for and it pushes you to work to your highest potential to achieve your desired results. If you feel unmotivated to study by yourself, find some friends who can help you out! I promise that when it is time for exams, the studying will be worth it and you will know more than you thought you would. Some of the most effective ways I have learned to study are by making flashcards and writing out all the information I know. It often turns into either a study guide or a mind map.  When I write it all out, I can see where I am missing information and I can always go back and add it in later. Everyone studies in their own way so if a strategy isn’t working, try another one.



After spring break, the end of the semester comes fast. Time to study quickly disappears, so don’t wait! Start studying now!



Sources

Writers, Staff. “How To Prepare For AP Exams.” BestColleges.Com, 15 Aug. 2022, www.bestcolleges.com/blog/how-to-prepare-for-ap-exams/

Nair, Madhu. “How to Study for Exams: Strategies and Tips You Must Know.” University of the People, 18 Sept. 2023, www.uopeople.edu/blog/how-to-study-for-exams-strategies-and-tips/







11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page