top of page
  • Luke Hudson

Oklahoma’s Original Burgers: Not Worth the Expense

I usually seek out the food of foreign cultures. But last week I thought I would tap into my blue-blooded American veins and visit Oklahoma’s Original Burgers, which recently opened at the Pointe at Barclay. 


The restaurant, although new, was a very promising place for me and my friend to grab a hearty lunch. The environment is clean and nice (likely because it just opened), and the inside is shiny white tile with retro graphics on the walls. There is an awesome outside area complete with cornhole and ring toss games to play while you wait. There’s also a kiosk to make self-ordering easier. 


Unfortunately, the menu at Oklahoma’s Original Burgers is quite limited, offering only burgers with options to add toppings or additional patties, along with fries that you can top with sauces. I ordered a cheeseburger with their “special sauce” and a basket of barbeque fries. 

What hurt my soul and my wallet was the $20 plus total of the order. I wouldn't mind paying $20 for a solid meal, but my burger was fairly average. 


The menu claims the burger will be “perfection on a bun”, but mine was mediocre and served in a “smashed” style so it was very thin. I could barely taste the Oklahoma’s Burger Sauce (and I’m starting to believe it was just Mayo). 


The fries had a nice crunchy consistency, but the barbeque sauce was nothing special. The classic fries my friend purchased for $5 were bland, especially for the price. 


Unfortunately, I didn’t get to try one of their $16 milkshakes based on breakfast foods, because I was too broke. However, they come in a variety of intriguing flavors that look worth a try including “Get Lucky” topped with Lucky Charms and “Brunch Crunch” featuring French toast flavors.


In my opinion, Oklahoma’s Original Burgers is not quite worth the price. You would be better off going to P.T.’s with its better variety, flavor, and value… unless you crave a $16 Fruity Pebbles shake.





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

You Are What You Eat

Have you ever bitten into an apple and thought, “Gee, I wonder where this apple has been?” You may have some idea of how food goes on long journeys from a farm to a store shelf before it reaches your

bottom of page