top of page
  • hoggardnewspaper

An Introduction Into the Wonderful World of Studio Ghibli

May 4, 2021

By: Abigail Billings


If there's one thing everyone knows about me, it's that I’m a huge procrastinator. They also know that I’m a huge media and entertainment fanatic. So what better way to procrastinate than to watch movies! That's what I found myself doing on one fine weekend. I just finished New Girl and wasn’t sure exactly what kind of vibe I was looking for next. I’m in the middle of binge-watching Adventure Time and I wanted a little break from it. I love the vibe but I wasn’t digging the storyline happening at the moment. Suddenly, it was like a light appeared in the form of something else I had been procrastinating. What was that, you ask? Watching a Studio Ghibli film. Studio Ghibli’s been making critically acclaimed movies since before I was born, but I had always pushed them aside for a later moment. Something within me was screaming to watch at least one of them right at that very moment, and who was I to deny my procrastinator’s needs? So I did. And Woah. I don’t think I was truly living before today. I sat myself down and watched 4 of the most popular Studio Ghibli movies to persuade you to watch them as well. Without further ado, welcome to a Studio Ghibli Spectacular!


1. Howl’s Moving Castle


I always like to go into movies as blind as possible, but in this case, I thought I knew what to expect. I had heard the basic premise of the movie as well as the plot twists at the end. Well, I thought I did. Everything I was told to expect literally did not happen, so I think I was told about the wrong movie. In any case, I absolutely loved this movie. The story follows a young girl named Sophie, who gets cursed by a witch and goes on a quest to find the cure. Along the way, she finds friends and family in a sorcerer named Howl and her quest quickly shifts into a journey to save him. With voices such as Christian Bale, Josh Hutchinson, and Jena Malone, this movie is filled with lots of life. The story, the art, the quick little moments of comedy, everything comes together to create something truly magnificent. I laughed, I cried, I was in great anticipation. I seriously felt like I went through nearly every emotion I have. And we can’t forget to give a shout out to the beautiful music that played throughout the movie. It's been stuck in my head ever since and I can’t wait to add it to my playlists. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a film that will warm your heart but still keep you on the edge of your seat.


2. Spirited Away


With this probably being the most famous of Studio Ghibli’s movies, I was quite excited to watch Spirited Away. I have to say, it really does live up to its hype. Spirited Away focuses on a young girl named Chihiro who finds herself stuck in a world of monsters and spirits. In the process of trying to save her parents, Chihiro is faced with many trials and tribulations while she also attempts to help her new friend Haku and learn more about a faceless spirit that always seems to be following her. At first I found the movie to be somewhat slow. I wasn’t all that interested and although it was enjoyable, it just couldn’t keep my attention. As it continued, however, I found I couldn’t look away. The story kept bringing me in new directions other than I could expect. You can’t help but love every single character, even the ones that may not seem so nice at first. This movie is upsettingly underrated and if you’re looking to get an idea of the vibe of Studio Ghibli films, this is a great one to start with.


3. My Neighbor Totoro


Another of the most well-known Studio Ghibli films, this was probably the first one I had ever heard of. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from it, but I knew how much people absolutely love and treasure Totoro so I knew I would ultimately enjoy it. When sisters Mei and Satsuki (Elle and Dakota Fanning) move to the countryside, they didn’t expect their house to be haunted by sweet little dust spirits, but that's not all their new neighborhood had in store for them. After finding the hideaway of a lovable monster named Totoro, Mei and Sasuke have a new friend to help them and to play with! The movie itself didn’t have a true main conflict, but rather several little incidents that Mei and Satsuki get caught up in. I recommend this film for anytime you want to feel like a kid again. Family movie night, bedtime movie when you’re babysitting, or just when you’ve had a bad day and want a lighthearted movie to make you feel comfortable. All I know is that when I have kids, this movie will definitely be a rainy day staple.


4. Kiki’s Delivery Service


As for the last movie on the list, Kiki’s Delivery Service follows Kiki, a young witch off to find a new place in the world. After a long journey, she finds herself living in a bakery, helping run it, and soon creates her own delivery service. All goes well (minus a few hitches) until Kiki loses the inspiration for her powers and must get them back before it's too late. Honestly, this was probably my least favorite on the list but it was still immensely enjoyable. Kiki was quite relatable at times and I loved how strong-willed she was. Much like My Neighbor Totoro, this movie is great for family and friends and leaves you with a warm feeling in your heart. Jiji, Kiki’s cat, is such a great sidekick and comic relief, he reminded me much of the cat from Sabrina the Teenage Witch. Another sweet movie, I recommend this one to anyone who is looking for coming of age movie vibes.


 

All in all, from what I’ve seen by watching some of Studio Ghibli’s most popular movies, I can 100% recommend these to anyone! There's a movie no matter what kind of vibes you’re feeling. In the end, my definitive ranking will probably have to be Howl’s Moving Castle, Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro and finally Kiki’s Delivery Service. Honestly, these were all so close it was hard to choose. And I know some of you may be scared by the animated/anime art style used (trust me, I was too) but seriously, the animation and the story pair together to make something truly wonderful. If you want to watch any of these (or any other Studio Ghibli film), they’re available through HBO Max.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What You Need To Know About the 2024 Grammy Awards

Last month, on February 4 at 8 p.m., the nation watched in awe as the 66th Grammy Awards commenced. The show began with an astounding performance by Dua Lipa, who performed several of her hit songs, s

bottom of page